skip to main content
Header
Attendance Policy

Select A New Community Service

Douglas County School System Attendance Policy

Increased educational accountability and recent changes in Georgia Law have led to a greater emphasis on school attendance. Outlined below is a summary to the attendance policy for the Douglas County Schools for all students in grades K-12. Please read carefully and if you have questions, contact the principal of your student's school.

Any time your student is absent or tardy to school, you must provide within 3 days a written excuse stating the reason for the student's absence. After the 10th day of absence due to illness, the excuse must come from a medical doctor. Students will be excused only for the following reasons.

1. Personal illness or attendance in school endangers the health of the student or others or conditions rendering attendance impossible or hazardous to student health or safety.
2. A serious illness or death in a student's immediate family necessitating absence from school.
3. A court order or an order by a governmental agency, including a preinduction physical examinations for service in the armed forces, mandating absence from school.
4. Religious holidays, necessitating absence from school.
5. Suspension from school or other actions by the school system that prohibits a child from attending school for a period of time.
6. One day for voter registration.
7. Students sent home from school with head lice would be excused for the day sent home and one more per occurrence. Any additional absences will be unexcused.
8. A student whose parent or legal guardian is in military service in the armed forces of the United States or the National Guard, and such parent or legal guardian has been called to duty for or is on leave from overseas deployment to a combat zone or combat support posting, shall be granted excused absences, up to a maximum of five school days per school year, for the day or days missed from school to visit with his or her parent or legal guardian prior to such parent's or legal guardian's deployment or during such parent's or legal guardian's leave.

Students shall be in attendance for a minimum of one-half of the required instructional time to be counted as present for the entire day.

Every parent, guardian or other person residing in Georgia is required either to enroll and send children in their care and charge, between the ages of six and sixteen to a public or private school or to provide a home study program for these children which meets the requirements as set forth in law. Any student who is subject to compulsory education requirements and is deemed to be truant is subject to progressive disciplinary consequences. Students who accumulate more than ten school days of unexcused absences in any semester may be ineligible for an instructional permit or driver's license and students who already possess an instructional permit or driver's license may have such suspended (O.C.G.A. 40-4-22).

Any parent, guardian, or other person residing in this state who has control or charge of a child or children enrolled in Douglas County Schools who accumulates more than five (5) unexcused absences in violation of the Compulsory Education Law, (O.C.G.A. 20-2- 690.1) shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof, shall be subject to a fine not less that $25.00 and not greater than $100.00, imprisonment not to exceed 30 days, community service or any combination of such penalties, at the discretion of the court having jurisdiction.